How do I permanently delete old Facebook Messages?
Use the Messenger App to Permanently Delete Facebook Chat HistoryOpen the Chats tab from the bottom of the Messenger app to find your past messages.Press and hold on the conversation you want to delete.Tap the red trash can icon.Confirm with DELETE..
Does Facebook delete chat history?
Messages that have already been sent cannot be unsent or removed from the recipients inbox. If you delete a message or conversation on your end, this means it will still be available on the recipients account unless they delete it themselves.
Do Facebook messages ever expire?
No, it doesn’t. Unless you take action to delete them yourself (either intentionally or unintentionally) your conversations will remain in your account as long as your account exists. Even if you deactivate your account your messages will still be there when you reactivate it.
Does Messenger automatically delete old messages?
YES, if you are taking about Self-Destructing messages like in Mission impossible movies (Automatically deleting messages after certain amount of time). For this you have to chat in Secret conversation mode. … So, for example, if you have set 1 Minute and sent a message.
How long does messenger keep deleted messages?
Facebook says it keeps “backup copies for a reasonable period of time” after a deletion, and it says that can be as long as three months. It also says it may retain copies of “some material” from deleted accounts, but removes personal identifiers.